Member Profiles


Wayne Belter

Wayne recently retired from the Town of Mattawa after 32 years as the Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer/Director of Planning.  His experience in municipal administration and professional planning in a variety of municipal and provincial positions during his career has been extensive and varied.  Wayne possesses a Bachelor of Applied Arts in Urban and Regional Planning from Ryerson University and has worked collaboratively with the NBMCA on various initiatives over the past three decades. Wayne was appointed Chair by the Minister of Environment Conservation and Parks in September 2019.


The fifteen municipalities within the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area nominated either councillors or citizens to represent the collective interests of municipalities throughout the planning process. Municipalities (who are ultimately responsible for implementing the plan) are also represented on the Source Protection Authority Board of Directors.

Beverley Hillier, City of North Bay
Beverley Hillier is the Manager of Planning Services for the City of North Bay. Her experience in professional planning and municipal relations allows for expert advice on matters of policy creation. Beverley possesses a Bachelor of Environmental Studies in Planning from the University of Waterloo. Beverley joined the Committee in 2010 to replace Ian Kilgour, who had previously held her position at the City of North Bay.

Tim McKenna, Municipality of Callander
Tim McKenna has over 30 years experience in professional engineering, environmental compliance and facility operation/maintenance with a focus on the design, construction and operation of public infrastructure. Tim has previous experience as a member of the Ausable Bayfield Source Water Protection Working Group.  He is currently the Manager of Operations for the Municipality of Callander.  

Randy McLaren, Township of Bonfield
Randy currently serves as Mayor of the Township of Bonfield. He brings over a decade of Council experience to the Source Protection Committee. 


Maurice Schlosser (Agriculture)
Maurice was elected to represent the area’s agricultural industry by local members of the Ontario Farmers Environmental Coalition. Owner of Schlosser’s Strawberry Farm, Maurice has acquired a good understanding of land stewardship through first-hand experience implementing an Environmental Farm Plan. His committee experience includes a term on the Township of South Himsworth council and as former Chair of the Powassan Farmers’ Market.

George Stivrins (Industrial / Commercial)
George has served in various positions in both public office (18 years) and private industry (30 years) since graduating in Civil Engineering Technology from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute. Past president of the Parry Sound Chamber of Commerce, George has been involved in a wide variety of municipal and environmentally based committees. He currently co-owns and serves as Marketing Director of the Chief Commanda II and is also a member of the Northern Committee of Ontario Tourism Marketing Corporation.

Peter Murray                                                 
Peter is a professional engineer and has been employed at Ontario Power Generation for the last five years. He was involved with the design, construction and operation of a Water Pollution Control Plant and Water Treatment Facility in Cochrane.  He has lead or participated in the Ministry of Natural Resources Water Management Plans on ten river systems across central and northeastern Ontario.


Lucy Emmott
Lucy holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Biology from Nipissing University and has conducted research in various places around the globe, including Nepal and the Northwest Territories. Raised on a farm in Chisholm Township, Lucy is very familiar with the biological diversity of the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area. A mother to her three young children, she also currently works as an independent research technician in the area of forestry management planning.

John MacLachlan
As a former lecturer at Nipissing University, John has been involved in developing and teaching university-level courses in environmental science since 1971 until his retirement in 2011. His committee experience includes the Public Advisory Committee for the South River Water Management Plan, the Northern Shores District Health Council, and Muskoka District Health Council. John has also held memberships of the Strong Agricultural Society and the Parry Sound Soil and Crop Improvement Association.

Andrea Labelle
Andrea is an Environmental Coordinator and has more than ten years of experience and knowledge of ecological principles and environmental concepts with diverse roles. She holds both a Post-Graduate Diploma in Ecosystem Restoration from Niagara College and a Bachelor’s Degree in Earth Sciences from Laurentian University. Prior to her current employment at the Tembec (Rayonier) mill in Témiscamingue, QC, Andrea worked in the mining sector at locations across northern Ontario. She resides on a rural property in the Municipality of Callander.

North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority

15 Janey Avenue
North Bay, Ontario
P1C 1N1

Phone: (705) 474-5420
Fax: (705) 474-9793 

Email Us!