North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority

15 Janey Avenue
North Bay, Ontario
P1C 1N1

Phone: (705) 474-5420
Fax: (705) 474-9793

Email Us!

Member Profiles


Jeff Celentano

Jeff is a life-long Northerner and a retired municipal Chief Administrative Officer and Clerk.  He has over 34 years of municipal management experience with the City of North Bay and the Municipality of Callander.  Jeff is a Registered Professional Planner, a trained Facilitator and since 1995, Jeff has been a regular Sessional Instructor in Local Government, Public Management and Public Policy at Nipissing University.  Post-retirement, he has provided a wide variety of research and organizational consulting services to not-for-profit, public and small business sectors. He has been on the roster of the Speakers Network for the Rural Ontario Institute’s “Steps to Leadership” program, and he has been a Guest Instructor for the Ontario Good Roads Association.

Jeff is married to Susan and they have three daughters.  He is a member of the Rotary Club of North Bay and is on the Board of Directors for PHARA.


The fifteen municipalities within the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area nominated either councilors or citizens to represent the collective interests of municipalities throughout the planning process. Municipalities (who are ultimately responsible for implementing the plan) are also represented on the Source Protection Authority Board of Directors.

Beverley Hillier, City of North Bay
Beverley Hillier is the Manager of Planning Services for the City of North Bay. Her experience in the professional planning and municipal relations allows for expert advice on matters of policy creation. Beverley possesses a Bachelor of Environmental Studies in Planning from the Unviersity of Waterloo. Beverley joined the Committee in 2010 to replace Ian Kilgour, who had previously held her position at the City of North Bay.

Doug Brydges, Municipality of Callander
Before retiring and moving back to the North Bay area in 2001, Doug owned and operated a weekly newspaper and commercial printing plant for 20 years in northwestern Ontario. During that time, he served in public office as a school board and hospital board trustee; two terms as a municipal councillor; co-founded and chaired two regional economic development corporations. His community volunteer service included 20 years with the Geraldton Rotary Club, a shoreline reclamation project, development of a public waterfront park and two years as a community liaison member with the Low Level Radioactive Waste Siting Task Force. Since moving to Callander, Doug has served two terms as a Callander Councillor (2007-2014), as Callander’s representative with the North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority (2011-2014), and as a director with NECO Community Futures Development Corporation (2004-2012). He currently serves as chair of Callander’s Planning Advisory Committee and as a director with Blue Sky Net (since 2005).

Randy McLaren, Township of Bonfield
Randy currently serves as Mayor of the Township of Bonfield. He brings over a decade of Council experience to the Source Protection Committee. Randy joined the Committee in 2010 to fill a vacancy for a municipal representative.


Maurice Schlosser (Agriculture)
Maurice was elected to represent the area’s agricultural industry by local members of the Ontario Farmers Environmental Coalition. Owner of Schlosser’s Strawberry Farm, Maurice has acquired a good understanding of land stewardship through first hand experience implementing an Environmental Farm Plan. His committee experience includes a term on the Township of South Himsworth council and as former Chair of the Powassan Farmers’ Market.

George Stivrins (Industrial / Commercial)
George has served in various positions in both public office (18 years) and private industry (30 years) since graduating in Civil Engineering Technology from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute. Past president of the Parry Sound Chamber of Commerce, George has been involved in a wide variety of municipal and environmentally based committees. He currently co-owns and serves as Marketing Director of the Chief Commanda II and is also a member of the Northern Committee of Ontario Tourism Marketing Corporation.

Dennis MacDonald (Transportation)
Dennis retired after 35 years with Canadian Pacific Railway. Dennis has acquired extensive experience and knowledge of transportation related issues, including risk analysis, safety issues, acceptable railway standards and regulatory requirements. His committee experience includes a variety of multi-stakeholder committee, including his a position as Chair of the City of North Bay Property Standards Committee.


Lucy Emmott
Lucy holds a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Nipissing University and has conducted research in various places around the globe, including Nepal and the Northwest Territories. Raised on a farm in Chisholm Township, Lucy is very familiar with the biological diversity of the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area. A mother to her three young children, she also currently works as an independent research technician in the area of forestry management planning.

John MacLachlan
As a former lecturer at Nipissing University, John has been involved in developing and teaching university level courses in environmental science since 1971 until his retirement in 2011. His committee experience includes the Public Advisory Committee for the South River Water Management Plan, the Northern Shores District Health Council, and Muskoka District Health Council. John has also held memberships of the Strong Agricultural Society and the Parry Sound Soil and Crop Improvement Association.

Roy Warriner
A semi-retired farmer, Roy currently serves as a member of the Greater Nipissing Stewardship Council. He is a life member of the Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters and Secretary of the Commanda and Area Anglers and Hunters. Roy recently worked with Nipissing First Nation fisheries to establish a fish waste composting test site. He has a keen interest in the outdoors and has served on a variety of boards and committees.